Wednesday, March 27, 2013


So here I am, only a little over a month left of my program... and its as good as ever here in Disney World. Im still loving my job, my roomates and everything about Disney.
Although it is spring break, and things are kinda crazy (magic kingdom going to full capactiy by 11am...), its still the happiest place on earth. Of course there have been a few bumps here and there, between difficult guests or struggling with my online classes, but its still totally worth it.

My coworkers, managers, and coordinators are all wonderful people. It makes me so excited to come back here and work. The time to apply for an extension has come and gone, i was very tempted but I know i have to go home to finish school. And i know if i would have gotten offered a character attendant position, i would not be able to say no. After next year, I will have my degree and then I can come back down here and do a professional internship if everything works out as planned :)

For a while, i literally feared the thought of going home... i love it to much to leave this behind. But after my family visited last week, I realized what I have at home, and now I think i can accept going home in May. And to know that i WILL be back here, no matter what, for a second program, helps alot. This place will always be a part of me...

I applied to be a campus rep also, so even when I go home, Disney will be with me :) I cant wait to recruit people from GVSU, I could talk about the DCP alllll day long. I think ill make a great rep <3
My Disney Heritage class is pretty much the most wonderful thing ever. I get to learn everything there is to know about the Walt Disney company, and the more I learn the more I fall in love with Disney <3 I never realized how much of an impact Disney as a whole has on the world. It seriously is one the the greatest companies ever known to man, when you finally realize everything they play a part in.

And after learning all this, it makes me want to be a part of it for the rest of my life even more. Im starting to network more and more with different people, to see what kind of path it takes to get into management and the different roles that are out there. Im thinking possibly guest relations or travel planner, but who knows. 

As for the present, there hasnt been a single day i have not spent in the parks or at least went to a park even for a moment. Im living it up as much as possible... i never want to lose a day here...tomorrow im volunteering for Give Kids the World, im super excited to be apart of that, im sure it will be tons of fun.
So for those of you wondering, being a cast member is one of the greatest things in the world (if that isnt already obvious to you), and im so blessed to call myself one <3 every day here is a new adventure, and i love every moment...

The happiest place on earth is calling, so more updates to come later :) 

thanks for reading <3

enjoy some pics from when my family visited last week....

Friday, March 8, 2013

Almost Halfway....

Oh my goodness... to think I am almost HALFWAY through my program, is the most incredible thing... this internship has honestly FLOWN by, and im trying so hard to make the time slow down.
This program is still the most amazing thing... I keep waiting for it to take a turn and become bad, or for me to become home sick.. but every day it just gets better and better. And each day that passes, the less I want to go home :( I have to start thinking about my plans for going home unfortunately, with booking a flight and all that. Extension applications start Monday, and its taking every fiber of my being NOT to extend... but I have to go home and finish school. All my managers and coordinators say its best to just go home and finish school, so I know its what best... but going home is NOT going to be easy.
But today i did go to an Entertainment extension audition, and it was amazing! There was around 250 people there, and we just did a simple 8 count dance routine to its a small world, and we had to march in across the room in front of a judge with 3 other people... it brought me back to my review show days :) unfortunately, I didnt make it, they took 15 guys and just a few girls, but Im totallly ok with it, cause it was a BLAST doing it, and now i can say i auditioned in the actual rehearsal facilities that the performers use :)

Besides that, life at Muppets is still incredibly amazing... of course it can be slow and monotonous at times, but the guest interaction is great, and i think Hollywood Studios is the best park to work in! we have the best hours (besides Animal Kingdom), i RARELY work over 6 hours, and the people are WONDERFUL. I have made so many friends at Muppets, its so great to have a great job AND great co workers!

I still continue to spend allll my free time in the parks :) Im finally really getting the hang of all the parks and where everything is at. I know Hollywood like the back of my hand :) I havent gotten to do anything outside of the parks yet, besides some of the nightlife and party busses, but hopefully I can get to that soon! House of Blues is a really fun place to be on Sundays, that has been the best place outside of Disney so far!

I did start my Exploration series class on thursdays, Disney Heritage and it is SUCH an amazing class!!! Its just a 2 hour class, once a week and you learn about the past of Walt Disney and how the parks came to be. There is sooo much to learn about them, I have already learned so much just from 2 classes! We take a couple field trips, im looking forward to learning more about Disney History
My mother, best friend and boyfriend are coming in a little over a week and im SOOOO Exciteddd to see them! I get 6 whole days off from work to be with them, I cant wait to show them around the parks! :D It will be so nice to be with my boyfriend again after all this time <3

As time continues to pass here, i become more and more sure that Disney is my future. Everything about it here, just feels like home to me. Im already looking forward to coming back here, and I havent even left. I know going home will be hard, but its what needs to be done in order to come back here and be in Management in the future. 

For now its back to my last 5 day work week before the fam comes down to visit and im looking forward to getting back to Muppets after 3 days off! 

Still living the dream here in Disney World, no big deal <3







Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Living the dream

Honestly, this program is everything I thought it would be, and more. As im coming up on my one month anniversary of being here (ALREADY!!), im realizing how lucky and blessed I am to be here. This place is truly so incredible.

Disney honestly is the happiest place on earth. And no one can tell me otherwise.

I have so much fun when I go into work. The number of families i come into contact with everyday, and the opportunities I have to make their vacation a great one, just with a simple smile, blowing bubbles or talking with them, is the best feeling in the world.

I never want to go home.

Im so tempted to extend... every fiber of my being wants to extend and be a character attendant or in entertainment.... but with a boyfriend, family and horse back home... i just dont think I can. But more than anything, I wish I could just stay here through the summer <3

So for now, I need to enjoy every moment, as I am everyday. Every day is so amazing here. Whether its playing in the parks or working. Even when I play in the parks as a guest, i cant help but want to wish people with buttons on a happy birthday or happy anniversary. I find myself giving people directions if i see they are lost, even when im not working. today a random guest came up to me (i was dressed completly normal and not working) and he asked me where the bathrooms where. and of course i put on my cheery voice and used the disney point to direct him... and i think i startled him haha it was great :) And this evening, i was in a store that im familiar with and someone was looking for photo albums, and i showed them exactly where to go... i think i have a problem... lol

a "cast member even when not working" problem. but i guess theres nothing wrong with that :) I enjoy every minute of it <3

for the next 3 days im off work... i plan to spend most of the time in the parks... the princes and princess' will be out for Valentines day, i cant wait to take pics <3 It will be a good 3 day weekend for meeee

Monday, February 4, 2013

Settling In

Greetings Followers!!!

Yes, I AM still alive! :) Still loving the Disney life. It is crazy busy, but oh so worth it. Things are wonderful here...

I did finally EARN my EARS. only took me 3 days, so ive been a normal employee (or a muppet as they like to call us) for a few days now :) Orientation was quiet boring, besides the awesome park tour. Lots of E-learning (on a comp) which seemed to last forever. But after that one day, it was on the job training from there! I am absolutely LOVING my job at Muppets. We rotate jobs every 45 min or so, so you never have to do the same thing for too long. It makes the time go by soooo fast! Sometimes im spieling in preshow and getting everything ready, and other times i get to sit in the theater and spiel occasionally. Sometimes I work exit where I simply get the 3D glasses, and other times i get to sit out front and greet guests! Its simply amazing!

My shifts have been nice and short too, with an occasional longer shift. But majorly, they are nice 6 hour shifts! and of course, I have spent EVERY single free day in the parks. I have been to Magic Kingdom 2 times, Epcot once, Animal Kingdom once, and Hollywood Studios a billion times since i work there, but only once to "play". I have 2 days in a row off, so Im thinking about goin to Hollywood Studios to get to know the place better!

There was already a really cool housing event, a "winter wonderland" dance. There were sooo many people there, it was ridiculous! this week is grocery bingo, and next week they are having another dance for Valentines day! I love all the activities they do for us CP's, they honestly treat us soooo well!!!

My roomates are still amazing, I feel so lucky to have gotten such awesome girls to live with for these 4 months!!! I am still trying to branch out and meet more people though, because alot of the time, my roomies all work on different days so we cant do much together very often, so I need more people to play in the parks with me :)

So life is still good in paradise <3 im trying to enjoy everyday, because i cant believe im already 2 weeks in.... I know its going to fly, so im going to take advantage of every moment I have on this program <3

Well thats about it for new stuff going on, ill continue to keep you all updated!

Thanks for reading everyone <3






Monday, January 28, 2013

Traditions and Orientation


Well its been nothing but busy busy busy down here in Disney! I completed traditions and orientation, and tomorrow is already my 3rd and final day of training! it is all moving so quickly!!! 
Well i promised to do a post about traditions…but honestly, i dont want to give much away. All i will say, is its a 4 hour process (PAID!!) and lets just say you learn the heritage and values of Disney. it happens on your 3rd or 4th day after check in. you willl either have it in the morning or afternoon. Now all 5 of my roomates had it in the afternoon, even though we all checked in at the same time, so it is completely random. And even if you do have the same traditions, you are broken down into smaller groups from there, so you may not know anyone in your group, which gives you the opportunity to meet new people :) The first part is quiet boring, but after the first part, lets just say i was brought to tears more than once during it all. It makes you truly proud to work for Disney! Thats all im going to reveal about traditions :) just make sure you are within the disney look of course!!
My orientation happened to be on saturday. now this various for everyone. one of my roomates had hers the day after traditions, i have another roomate that didnt have hers until TUESDAY, almost a whole week after traditions. it just really depends on when a trainer is available to train you.
Theres not much to say about Orientation, because it varies based on your role. It can be located right at your work location or it could be at Disney University. Mine took place in the main office of Hollywood studios. We took a nice long tour, and did alot of e-learning about safety and all that. This was when i found out exactly where i was working… MUPPETS!! :)
Not going to lie, at first i was very disappointed  I really had my eyes set on the great movie ride or american idol. But as i started training, i found out i LOVE the people and roles at Muppets :) im very happy where I am at! 
The length of training really depends on your role and such. I only have 3 days of training, compared to my roomate who has over a week. Just depends on the difficulty of the job!
So that is all that is new here at Disney :) lately i have been so exhausted, training hours are long and difficult to be honest, and when i get home, all i can do is lay around because im so exhausted  but it looks like next week im switching to 6 hour shifts, which should be perfect. i get 2 days off a week, and they are back to back, which is really nice :) So i am still loving it here <3
im still in shock about being here… i cant believe im working for Disney. It still hasnt hit me, and im not sure if it will. haha. I met with one of my head managers today, and already discussed my hopes to have a career with Disney! I hope there is lot to look forward to with my future here <3

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The Journey Begins....

Im not sure where to even start...
I survived check in, casting and the housing meeting... it has been an amazing 2 days :)

So for those of you that are curious how the process works, ill start at the beginning with check in

The way i wrote this its kinda for people who havent arrived yet, so ignore all the "you's" if your just reading this out of curiosity haha

My roomates and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Resort RIGHT across from Vista Way (where check in happens). At around 1am we started walking across the street to get in line since we wanted a dorm that is in super high demand this season. When we got there, we lined up right by the security guards who wouldnt let us in, so we just lined up on the sidewalk. There were people in front of us, about 3 or 4 groups, and they had gotten there at MIDNIGHT. So we sat around and waited forever, around 5:30 they let us actually move up into Vista where we had to wait until 7am to actually go on to the check in process. Below is a picture of the line, right at the start where we were



The check in process is super organzied and fairly quick if your up close in line... the people behind us probly had to wait many hours to even get into the building for check in, but we did our waiting from 1am to 7am :) They do have a nice room thats guarded for your luggage, which is really convenient later on because there is a bus that stops right there to take you, and your luggage to wherever you live! But you start by just giving them your name and verifying your address at little stations. You then get your program guide!! then you move on to find your role and when you do traditions, they sort this by last name. you used to find out your role at casting, but now they put it on a sticker that goes into your program book. Im working in Hollywood studios!!! :) Below is a picture of the start of the check in process



During this time, you may get separated from your roomates, but its ok, they accommodate if you want to try and get a room together. Then you go into little groups around a table where a cast member talks to you about what is to come, and basic things like no alcohol, and other basics. Then you move into the next room, where you say where you want to live! if your roomates already went before you and got the room, they will have that on file, just tell them the name of one of the roomies that already went through, you are able to still see them and such within the room, so dont panic if you get seperated! then you get your housing key, and then you sign some papers agreeing to the housing thing. after that point, you give them your car info, and get your Housing ID!!! be prepared for a picture :)

After this point, you go to a table where they ask you if you set up direct deposit or if you need a pay card. Then you move onto another table with a group and a cast member talks about the education program, traditions, the disney look and other things! then you go down to some tents outside, where you talk to someone from the education program and you learn about safety at Disney. Then you get a cool bag with some stuff in it, and a snack to eat, cause at this point, your starved.

From here, you board a bus to CASTING (i got to be the first bus) and its really fun. a cast member talks the whole way and does trivia and you learn a little bit about the area. when you arrive at casting, take the time to take pictures, because this place is AWESOME, and once your in, its busy work from here! its all kind of a blurr, and the order they do things in changes, but you go through your role a little bit, when to be for your traditions, where to be for your orientation, what to wear and at this point you have to have your identification (passport, id and soc, etc). They put all your info in the system, you sign some more documents, you get finger printed and then your done! thats the order mine went in... but it does change for those of you who havent arrived yet :) the building was super cool, i took my time walking thru the halls because the pictures everywhere, were amazing. Just to be in the building was wonderful! So enjoy it
Below is a picture of the start of the casting process



From here, the bus takes you right back to vista, and you can either go back to your car if you have one, and move in, or theres a bus that takes you and your luggage right to your apartment! you then get to move everything in! Below is a pic of the building i live in, Chatham!



Housing was the next day (tuesday) and it was actually really fun. For us, there were 3 different times, but they give you what time you need to go at checkin. There is lots of loud music, flashing lights and they go over all the fun basics of housing! like rules, things that get you termed, allll the things you need to know about living in the apartments! it lasted an hour, and then the rest of the day is yours!! I did all my shopping yesterday, but if you dont get a chance, this is a good time to go shopping! Below is a pic of what the housing meeting was like.


So thats all I have done so far, its now tuesday afternoon, and i dont have anything till thursday morning, which is my traditions!!! I will definently make a post on how that goes, because thats when i become an OFFICIAL employee!! Saturday is my orientation, which im SUPER excited about.

But besides that, my roomates are WONDERFUL, i LOVE living in Chatham. We requested a place right by the bus stop... and they gave us the building RIGHT in front of the bus stop! We also have a laundry room right across from us. The pool, fitness room, mailbox and such is less than a few minute walk. Chatham 9202 all the way <3



Everything is so amazing here... seeing disney cast member walk outside my window all the time is so strange, in their uniforms and name tags headed to work... thats going to be starting next week :) im seriously enjoying every minute of this... these next 4 months will go so fast. I cant wait to go to the parks!! As soon as im done with traditions, i can go there!! Unfortunately  all my other roomates have a different traditions time in the afternoon, so I will go to the parks without them, then meet them there once they are finished :) im sure ill be there allll weekend, because my orientation on Saturday is only till 2! i cant wait to see everything...

I will update again after traditions and orientation :) thanks for reading!!!













Friday, January 18, 2013

THIS IS IT


image

THE MOMENT IVE BEEN WAITING FOR FOR ALMOST 4 MONTHS... I FINALLY LEAVE FOR THE DCP TOMORROW..SATURDAY!! AHHHHH!

i seriously can NOT believe it is already here... im so not ready. but yet I am.

 
I fly outta the GR airport at 3:10... and no words can describeeee how happy i am. but yet scared. and nervous. and sad. but i know ill be happy once im there :) im most excited about flying i think... lol i just love to flyy

But seriously, im most excited to finaly start my Disney journey! meeting people from all around the world, getting to know my new roomates, taking a Disney University class and best of all... WORKING FOR THE MOUSE. i seriously cant WAIT to start working. Making families days and watching kids smile... it just doesnt get any better. anddd im looking forward to exploring the parks for the first time in over 13 YEARS. i cant WAIT to ride all the rides and just go through the parks...

this will be my new life for 4 months. and it starts tomorrow <3